Police Department

Divisions and Staff

The Schererville Police Department is composed of employees who work under the direction of the Chief of Police. The Chief of Police is directly responsible to the Board of Safety Commissioners who are appointed for three year staggered terms by the five members of the Schererville Town Council. Of course, all of us work for the citizens of the Town of Schererville! The bulk of the force is divided into the Detective Bureau and Patrol Division, each directed by the Deputy Chief under which there are two Commanders. There are several additional divisions that play a supporting role, such as Dispatch and VIPS. Here you can find information pertaining to each division and some special units therein.